2018 Bodie McDowell scholarships awarded

MISSOULA, Montana – The Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded nine Bodie McDowell scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students studying outdoor communications, totaling $24,500 for the 2018-19 school year.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Ryan Chelius, an undergraduate in environmental studies at SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, received $3,000
  • Forrest Czarnecki, an undergraduate in journalism at Colorado State University, received $4,000
  • Katelyn Gille, an undergraduate in sustainable parks, recreation and tourism at Michigan State University, received $2,500
  • Collin Riley, an undergraduate in communications at the University of North Dakota, received $1,000
  • Trevor Ritland, a graduate student in science communication at Northern Arizona University, received $5,500
  • Megan Ross, an undergraduate in journalism at University of Oklahoma, received $1,000
  • Hugo Sindelar, a graduate student in science and natural history filmmaking at Montana State University, received $3,500
  • Kaitlin Sullivan, a graduate student in science journalism at CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, received $1,500
  • Tana Wilson, a graduate student in parks and conservation areas management at Clemson University, received $2,500

Recipients are paid at the commencement of the fall semester, and also receive a one-year student membership in the Outdoor Writers Association of America. OWAA’s endowment trustees manage the Bodie McDowell Scholarship Fund and distribute funds to college scholarship recipients each year in accordance with the OWAA bylaws. This year, 32 students applied for scholarships through the program. Recipients were selected by members of the education committee chaired by Lisa Ballard.

For more information and to apply, visit www.owaa.org/programs/scholarships-fellowships/bodie-mcdowell-scholarship.

OWAA is The Voice of the Outdoors®. The Outdoor Writers Association of America® is the oldest and largest association of professional outdoor communicators in the United States. It was organized in 1927 by members of the Izaak Walton League of America and includes professional communicators dedicated to sharing the outdoor experience. OWAA’s professionals include writers, photographers, outdoors radio- and television-show hosts, book authors, videographers, lecturers and artists. The association is headquartered in Missoula, Montana. For more information, contact Outdoor Writers Association of America, 615 Oak St., Ste. 201, Missoula, Montana. 59801; 406-728-7434, info@owaa.org; www.owaa.org.