Adrian College Holds Onto Lead Entering AFTCO Open

Adrian College continues to lead School of the Year race as #2 McKendree University and #3 Murray State close the gap

The 2019-2020 race for Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia is off to a fast start. With one Association of Collegiate Anglers (ACA) double points event in the books, point totals are starting to skyrocket and the front-runners in the top 10 are starting to take shape.  This week’s update has two new teams inside the top 10, and a total of three teams moved up into the top 25 following the previous update.  The team that everyone is chasing on the eve of the AFTCO Collegiate Bass Open is Adrian College as they sit well positioned in first place.

The most recent update contains results from a major FLW college tournament where both second ranked McKendree University and third place Murray State competed.  Each of these teams earned over 750 points to close the margin on Adrian College.  These results prove to be extremely crucial to the School of the Year race as McKendree closes the gap between first and second place to just 530 points.  Up to this point in the season, Adrian College had enjoyed a 1,000 plus point lead for quite some time.

Here are the three teams that moved up into the top 25 for the Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia:

  1. University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point (Previously 30th)
  2. Greenville University (Previously 34th)
  3. Kansas State University (Previously 39th)

There was also a lot of movement among teams that were already inside of the top 25.  Two of those moves are in regards to the top 10.  Campbellsville University makes the move up two spots going from ninth place to seventh place.  The other notable jump was made by Drury University.  For the first time in program history, they are ranked in the top 10 in the nation as they jump from 12th to eighth place overall.  Other teams making a move inside of the top 25 are Bemidji State University and Carson-Newman University.  They are now ranked 12th and 17th, respectively.

This weekend’s event, the AFTCO Collegiate Bass Open, offers teams another chance to make a big jump in the race for the top spot.  Most notably, 1,000 points will be awarded to first place.  The AFTCO Open is also a double points event.  Each of the highest two teams inside of the top 100 for a given school will earn points for their position.  Here is the current top 25 entering the next ACA event of the season:

  1. Adrian College
  2. McKendree University
  3. Murray State University
  4. Bethel University
  5. Bryan College
  6. University of Montevallo
  7. Campbellsville University
  8. Drury University
  9. University of Tennessee
  10. Auburn University
  11. Sam Houston State University
  12. Bemidji State University
  13. University of Alabama
  14. Grand Valley State University
  15. Penn State University
  16. Virginia Tech
  17. Carson-Newman University
  18. Clarkson University
  19. University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
  20. Blue Mountain College
  21. Greenville University
  22. Clemson University
  23. Gannon University
  24. Kansas State University
  25. University at Buffalo

Complete Standings

For more information about the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, please visit

Stay up to date and Follow Us!

Facebook –

Instagram –

Twitter –

Subscribe to our videos!

YouTube –

Listen to our #WeAreCollegiateBass Podcast!


 About the Association of Collegiate Anglers

The Association of Collegiate Anglers (ACA), a division of CarecoTV, is a tournament organization created to facilitate growth, development, and structure within competitive collegiate bass fishing.  The ACA created the original BoatUS Collegiate Bass Fishing Series,14 seasons ago, which is now the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, and the longest running collegiate bass fishing series in existence.  The ACA provides support to dozens of school operating regional events nationwide and owns the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, Bass Pro Shops School of Year Program, and associated assets.   The ACA also provides the largest amount of televised coverage of any collegiate fishing series with dedicated programming on several television networks ranging from CBS Sports, Pursuit Channel, World Fishing Network, as well as other regional and national networks.  For more information on the ACA or the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, visit For more information on Bass Pro Shops, visit  For more information on CarecoTV, visit