Delta Waterfowl Announces 2019 Volunteer of the Year Nominees

BISMARCK, NORTH DAKOTA — Delta Waterfowl’s mission is fueled by North America’s most dedicated volunteers — a selfless legion of duck hunters with a passion for producing ducks and securing the future of waterfowling. They manage conservation projects, host First Hunt events for new waterfowlers, organize fund-raising banquets, help Delta defend local hunting opportunities, and so much more. They are, without a doubt, the backbone of The Duck Hunters Organization.

“Delta Waterfowl is extremely effective in its efforts because we have the best chapter volunteers in all of conservation,” said Dr. Scott Petrie, CEO of Delta Waterfowl. “Their commitment to our cause consistently amazes me, and I can’t thank them enough for all they do.”

In annually naming a Volunteer of the Year, Delta Waterfowl celebrates the thousands of devoted individuals across the United States and Canada who make its work possible. This year’s winner will receive Delta Waterfowl’s 2018 Gun of the Year — a Weatherby Orion 12-gauge over/under shotgun — plus a $500 gift card for Banded and Avery waterfowl gear.

For 2019, Delta Waterfowl’s regional directors have nominated 16 worthy volunteers:

Ben Wolney
Iron Range Flyers Chapter    
Hibbing, Minnesota

Alex Grable     
Sullivan County Chapter
Sullivan, Indiana   

Ken Powers     
1000 Islands Chapter  
Kingston, Ontario              

Tim Kellar     
Bottoms Up Chapter
Wilton, North Dakota 

Dan Robben     
Southern Oregon Chapter
Medford, Oregon

Jason Sanderson      
Lancaster Chapter     
Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Kevin Rea      
Mid South Chapter     
Memphis, Tennessee

Lee Monsees     
Triangle Chapter
Raleigh, North Carolina

Troy Hellmann     
Four Rivers Chapter
Washington, Missouri

James Michael Moyer     
Birmingham Chapter    
Birmingham, Alabama

Jamie Floyd     
Southern New Brunswick Chapter  
Sussex, New Brunswick

Calvin Barber     
Cupped ’N Committed Chapter     
Winterset, Iowa

Ryan Brown      
Park Cities Delta Chapter     
Dallas, Texas              

Chris Goss     
Raft Creek Chapter
Searcy, Arkansas
Brent Hutchins Chapter
Cabot, Arkansas              

Jonathan Walker     
Baton Rouge Area Chapter   
Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Craig Ochitwa     
Greenhead Nation Chapter
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Stay tuned: In July, Delta will name six finalists for 2019 Volunteer of the Year. The winner will be named in August, and announced on Delta’s social media pages and in the Fall Issue of Delta Waterfowl magazine.

For more information, contact Lisa Lawrence at (888) 987-3695 ext. 5222,

Delta Waterfowl Foundation is The Duck Hunters Organization, a leading conservation group working to produce ducks and ensure the tradition of duck hunting in North America. Visit